FANDOM



Puis quelque chose entra dans la pièce — je le sentis à travers la porte, et les orcs eux-mêmes furent effrayés et devinrent silencieux. Le nouvel arrivant s'empara de l'anneau de fer, et alors il perçut ma présence et le sort que j'avais jeté sur la porte.

La Communauté de l'Anneau, Le Pont de Khazad-Dûm


[Melkor] avait rassemblé ses démons à Utumno, ceux qui l'avaient suivi au temps de sa splendeur et s'étaient corrompus comme lui. Ils brûlaient comme des flammes enveloppées de ténèbres et, munis de fouets ardents, ils semaient la terreur devant eux. Plus tard, sur les Terres du Milieu, on les appela Balrogs.

Le Silmarillion, La Venue des Elfes et la Captivité de Melkor


OriginesModifier

A l'origine, les Balrogs étaient des Maiar qui furent plus tard corrompus par Melkor, avant le réveil des Elfes. Leurs premières habitations avaient été Utumno, mais après la défaite de leur maître pendant la guerre pour protéger les Elfes, les Balrogs et autres créatures au service de Melkor se sont échappés et sont allés à Angband.

ApparitionModifier

Les balrogs apparaissent dans le profond niveau de feu d'Utumno et sont très puissants. Ils sont immunisés contre le feu et certains d'entre eux apparaissent avec un Fouet de Balrog. Ils peuvent aussi apparaître avec des épées ou des marteaux Utumno (voir Equipement d'Utumno).

Les Balrogs appartiennent à la faction Utumno et ne peuvent pas être recrutés.

Tuer un Balrog vous rapporte la prouesse "Tueur de Balrog" et le titre "Tueur de Balrog".

ComportementModifier

Les Balrogs attaquent toutes les factions à l'exception de la leur. Ils mettent également le feu à des blocs autour d'eux-mêmes, donc si vous vous trouvez en mode créatif, ne les faites pas apparaître dans n'importe quelle structure inflammable, à moins que vous ne vouliez qu'ils causent des dommages majeurs. A Utumno, leurs feux remplaceront aussi les blocs non-Utumno à proximité, donc soyez prudent lorsque vous construisez là-bas.

En ce qui concerne ce mod (la question est très discutable dans les écrits de Tolkien), les Balrogs ont des ailes mais on ne les a jamais vus voler.

Il faut noter, cependant, que les Balrogs sont incapables de blesser les cygnes, et que les cygnes infligeront 100 (50 x 2hearts) de dommages par coup à un Balrog. Cela est assez difficile à mettre en pratique, à moins d'avoir la patience de diriger un groupe de cygnes depuis l'Etang-aux-Cygnes ou Dor-en-Ernil jusqu'à Utumno.

CombatModifier

Comme toutes les troupes que vous avez embauchées ne pourront probablement pas entrer dans Utumno (à moins que vous ne les poussiez un par un dans la fosse), vous serez seul dans ce combat. Si vous voulez vraiment de l'aide, la meilleure option est de le faire avec un autre joueur.

Voici quelques conseils utiles :

  • Apportez une armure de protection contre le feu ou des potions de résistance au feu (le breuvage Ent rouge donne aussi la résistance au feu).
  • Avoir une puissante arme à distance.
  • Apportez des blocs pour passer au-dessus du Balrog (blocs résistants au feu).
  • Notez que le Balrog se soigne continuellement de 1 (1hearts) tant qu'il est blessé. Il est donc prudent de vaincre le Balrog le plus rapidement possible, ce qui signifie que le joueur ne devrait prendre que peu de temps (ou pas du tout) pour se reposer ou se soigner.

Ou, si vous avez envie de voir un Balrog combattre un cygne, apportez un groupe de cygnes. Si ce genre de chose vous plaît.

DropsModifier

Les Balrogs laisseront toujours tomber de la Flamme d'Udûn et auront aussi une chance de laisser tomber du charbon ou leurs armes, qui pourraient être soit une pièce d'équipement Utumno, soit un fouet de Balrog. Ceux-ci peuvent également être contenus dans une poche.

HistoireModifier

Age des ArbresModifier

Les Balrogs étaient des Maiar moindres, corrompus par le Seigneur des Ténèbres, et le servaient totalement. Leur nombre était inconnu, mais on ne peut supposer qu'il n'y en a jamais eu plus de trois ou tout au plus sept. Les Balrogs étaient présents dès les Années des Arbres, quand Melkor et Ungoliant allèrent à Valinor et ont détruit les Deux Arbres. Pendant ce temps, les Balrogs sont restés dans les fosses d'Angband. Après que Melkor ait détruit les Arbres avec Ungoliant, il vint aux ruines d'Angband pour renouveler son règne dans la Terre du Milieu. Un désaccord avec Ungoliant l'a conduite à l'attaquer, et Melkor a poussé un grand cri qui a réveillé les Balrogs de leur sommeil. Dans une tempête de feu, les Balrogs ont chassé Ungoliant et se sont préparés à la poursuivre. Cependant, ils ont été arrêtés par Melkor et sont retournés à Angband, qui a été reconstruite peu de temps après.

Premier AgeModifier

Lorsque les Noldor remportèrent la bataille de Dagor-nuin-Giliath, Fëanor, toujours dans une grande rage, continua vers Angband. Il parvint même en vue du Thangorodrim, mais fut pris en embuscade par une force de Balrogs. Bientôt il se tint seul ; mais longtemps il se battit avec tous les balrogs, si puissante était sa force, sa vaillance et son endurance, le plus grand de tous les Enfants d'Iluvatar. Mais il était enveloppé de feu et percé de nombreuses blessures, et enfin Gothmog, Seigneur des Balrogs, le frappa au sol, lui infligeant une blessure mortelle.

Les Balrogs ont également combattu pendant la Nírnaeth Arnoediad, où Gothmog mena l'invasion. Il jeta Húrin et Turgon de côté, se retourna contre Fingon et le tua avec l'aide d'un autre Balrog, sécurisant le terrain pour les forces de Melkor. Il captura également Húrin, après que Húrin ait été enterré sous une montagne d'ennemis tués. Il lia le guerrier humain et le livra à Angband, après quoi Melkor tenta sans succès de lui soutirer le secret l'emplacement de Gondolin.

En l'an 510 du Premier Age, pendant la chute de Gondolin, les Balrogs montèrent sur le dos des dragons de feu pour atteindre la cité cachée de Gondolin. Le Seigneur de la Maison de la Fontaine, Ecthelion, réussit à tuer Gothmog au prix de sa propre vie. Alors qu'il tentaient d'échapper à la ville en feu, Glorfindel et ses compagnons ont été bloqués par un autre Balrog. Pour sauver Tuor, Idril et leur jeune fils Eärendil, Glorfindel combattit le Balrog sur une falaise et l'abattit, mais il fut emporté avec le Balrog dans la mort.

Les derniers Balrogs ont combattu dans la Guerre de la Colère et furent détruits, bien que certains aient réussi à s'échapper et à se cacher dans les cavernes de la terre.

Troisième AgeModifier

En l'an 1980 du Troisième Age, un Balrog s'éveilla en Moria quand les Nains eurent miné trop profondément pour Mithril. Il chassa les Nains de leur maison et tua le Roi Durin VI, et le Balrog fut par la suite appelé "Fléau de Durin". Certains disent qu'il y demeure encore.

FANDOM


Then something came into the chamber - I felt it through the door, and the orcs themselves were afraid and fell silent. It laid hold of the iron ring, and then it perceived me and my spell.

The Lord of the Rings, The Bridge of Khazad-dûm


And in Utumno [Melkor] gathered his demons about him, those spirits who first adhered to him in the days of his splendour, and became most like him in his corruption: their hearts were of fire, but they were cloaked in darkness, and terror went before them; they had whips of flame. Balrogs they were named in Middle-earth in later days.

The Silmarillion, Of the Coming of the Elves and the Captivity of Melkor


OriginsEdit

Originally, Balrogs were Maiar that were later persuaded by Melkor before the Awakening of the Elves. Their first dwellings had been Utumno, but after their master's defeat during the War for Sake of the Elves, the Balrogs and other creatures in Melkor's service escaped and went to Angband.

SpawningEdit

Balrogs spawn in the deep fire level of Utumno and are quite powerful. They are immune to fire and some of them spawn with a Balrog whip. They also may spawn with Utumno swords or hammers (see Utumno equipment).

Balrogs are aligned with the Utumno faction and cannot be hired.

Killing a Balrog earns you the achievement "Balrog Slayer" and the title "Balrog Slayer".

Behaviour Edit

BalrogUtumno

Balrogs attack every faction except for their own. They also set blocks around themselves on fire, so if in creative mode, don't spawn them in any flammable structure unless you want them to cause some major damage. In Utumno, their fires will also replace nearby non-Utumno blocks, so be careful when building there.

As far as this mod goes (the issue is debatable in Tolkien's writings), Balrogs have wings but have not been seen to fly.

It should be noted, however, that Balrogs are incapable of damaging swans, and that swans will deal 100 HP of damage per hit to a Balrog. This is rather difficult to make happen in practice, however, unless you have the patience to lead a group of swans all the way from Swanfleet or Dor-en-Ernil to Utumno.

CombatEdit

As any hired troops that you may have probably won't be able to enter Utumno (unless you push them into the Pit one by one), you will be by yourself in this fight. If you really want help, the best option is to do this with another player.

Here are some useful tips:

  • Bring Fire Protection armour or Fire Resistance potions (red Ent-draught also gives Fire Resistance).
  • Have a strong ranged weapon.
  • Bring blocks to get above the Balrog (fire proof blocks)

Note that the Balrog will continuously heal itself by 1 HP as long as it is hurt. It is therefore prudent to defeat the Balrog as quickly as possible, meaning that the player should take only a little time (if any at all) to rest or heal.

  • Or, if you feel like seeing a Balrog battle a swan, bring a bunch of swans. If that kinda thing catches your fancy.

DropsEdit

Balrogs will always drop flame of Udun and also have a chance of dropping coal or their equipped weapons, which could either be a piece of Utumno equipment or a Balrog whip. These can be contained in a pouch as well.

HistoryEdit

Years of the TreesEdit

The Balrogs were lesser Maiar, corrupted by the Dark Lord, and serving him utterly. Their numbers were unknown, but it may not be supposed more than three or at most seven ever existed. Balrogs were present as early as the Years of the Trees, when Melkor and Ungoliant went to Valinor and destroyed the Two Trees. During that time, the Balrogs remained in the pits of Angband. After Melkor destroyed the Trees with Ungoliant, he came to the ruins of Angband to renew his rule in Middle-earth. A disagreement with Ungoliant led to her attacking him, and Melkor gave out a great cry that roused the Balrogs from their slumber. In a tempest of fire, the Balrogs drove Ungoliant away and prepared to pursue her. However, they were halted by Melkor and returned to Angband, which shortly thereafter was constructed anew.

First AgeEdit

When Noldor were victorious the battle Dagor-nuin-Giliath, Fëanor, still in a great rage, pressed on toward Angband. He came even within sight of the Thangorodrim, but was ambushed by a force of Balrogs. Soon he stood alone; but long he fought on with all balrogs, so how was mightiest the strength, valour, and endurance, greatest of all the Children of Iluvatar. But he was wrapped in fire and wounded with many wounds, and at at the last Gothmog, Lord of the Balrogs, smote him to the ground, inflicting a mortal wound.

The Balrogs also fought during the Nírnaeth Arnoediad, where Gothmog led the invasion. He threw aside Húrin. and Turgon, turned upon Fingon and killed him with the help of another Balrog, securing the field for Melkor's forces. He also captured Húrin, after Húrin was buried under a mountain of slain foes. He bound the human warrior and delivered him to Angband, whereupon Melkor attempted unsuccessfully to pry the location of Gondolin from him. 

In FA 510, during the Fall of Gondolin, the Balrogs rode upon the backs of the fire-drakes to reach the hidden city of Gondolin. The Lord of the House of the Fountain, Ecthelion, managed to kill Gothmog at the cost of his own life. While attempting to escape the burning city, Glorfindel and his companions were blocked by another Balrog. To save Tuor, Idril and their young son Eärendil, Glorfindel fought the Balrog on a cliff and cast it down, but he was pulled down with the Balrog to their deaths.

The last of the Balrogs fought in the War of Wrath and were destroyed, though some managed to escape and hide in the caverns of the earth.

Third AgeEdit

In T.A. 1980, a Balrog awoke in Moria when the Dwarves had mined too deep for Mithril. It drove the Dwarves out of their home and slew King Durin VI, and the Balrog was thereafter called "Durin's Bane". Some say he dwells there still

Speechbank (Unused) Edit

  • No living being may enter these ancient halls. And no living being may leave them!
  • What is this? A worm out of the depths? How came you here?
  • No blade ever forged by Man or Elf or Dwarf can save you from the darkness of our Lord!
  • You cannot escape. You shall be consumed by the darkness.
  • You fool! You have made a grave mistake entering our halls.
  • Fool, there is no escape. You cannot run, and you cannot hide.
  • No light can overcome the darkness of Utumno!
  • Whatever form of life you are, scum, you shall not remain so for long!
  • Ha! The Valar must be fools to think that pitiful scum like you can stand against the Great Darkness.
  • What filthy spawn of the surface world are you? Bow down to the will of Melkor or you shall feel our wrath!
  • Fleshling, you shall be consumed!
  • What are you? How dare you enter here? You shall soon meet your demise.
  • Come here, filth! My Orcs shall be pleased. They have not had fresh meat in ten thousand years!
  • I am Ainur, born of the songs that sung the world into being! Your pitiful weapon cannot harm me!
  • Scum, you shall soon meet your demise. No living being can escape the darkness of Melkor the Corruptor.
  • I am your doom. I am your death!
  • What are you? Some filthy spawn of Orc? I will feed you to my chattels.
  • Soon you shall be corrupted as all light that ever entered here. And then, you shall serve me!
  • Death cannot save you, scum. Even your wretched spirit shall serve me!
  • Whence came you, filth? How did you enter here? It matters not. Soon you shall meet your doom.
  • No creature has left these pits in ten thousand years. And you shall not be the first!
  • You think your weak mortal flesh can challenge me?
  • Your tiny blade cannot pierce me, fool!
  • Pitiful fool. You shall meet your end soon.
  • What madness drove you here, outsider? Doesn't matter. You will meet your end here.
  • Your pitiful flesh will be consumed by the darkness. Not even your blackened bones will remain.
  • Fool! You have made a terrible mistake entering these dungeons.
Balrog  The Armies of Utumno  Melkor Plate

(Located under Forodwaith, after walking through the Pits)

NPCs:

First Floor: Ice SpiderOrc (Archer) • Warg (Ice)
Second Floor: Orc (Archer) • Tormented ElfTrollWarg (Obsidian)
Third Floor: BalrogOrc (Archer) • Tormented ElfTrollWarg (Fire)

Armour & Equipment:

ArmourBalrog WhipEquipmentPickaxe of the Underworld

Blocks:

First Floor: Ice Brick (Glowing) • Ice Pillar
Second Floor: Obsidian Brick (Fiery) • Obsidian Pillar
Third Floor: Fire Brick (Burning)• Fire Pillar

Items:

KeyMelkor Plate

Start a Discussion Discussions about Balrog

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.